Opals 2024 Schedule Locked In

The Seven Consulting Opals are locked in with an elite range of competition in preparation for the Paris 2024 Olympics.

The Seven Consulting Australian Opals will kick start their 2024 fixture with an international tour of Asia with games against Japan and China before returning for a home-soil clash with China at the Ford BALLIN’24 series.  

The final piece of preparation will see the Opals taking on Spain and Canada for the Invitational Cup in Segovia.  

  “These games provide an opportunity for coaches to assess all players in the Opals squad on the international stage. Every team that we will play in this window are in the FIBA top 10 rankings,” said Trish Fallon, Olympian and Opals Team Manager.  

 The inter-continental tour for the Opals finally leads to Lille, France with fixtures against Nigeria, Canada and the host nation France from 29 July to 4 August. 

 “Head Coach Sandy Brondello will assess the players in the WNBA and keep a close eye on the players selected for the series in Asia and Australia over the coming months,” added Fallon.  

“All teams play a vastly different style of basketball which will be pivotal in our preparations when we encounter similar styles at the Olympics.” 

 Looking towards the hometown Ford BALLIN’24 series against 2nd ranked Team China, duo Olympian Cayla George expressed excitement.  

 “Anytime you get an opportunity to wear the green and gold is an honour – and on home soil, it’s even better,” said George 

 “These preparation games are critical and China is one of our toughest opponents. It will be a great match-up for us.” 

  Tickets for Ford BALLIN’24 Melbourne series available via Ticketek  

 Corporate hospitality tickets are available here  

OPALS – 2024 SCHEDULE  
 

29 MAY China Series | Opals 72 - 70 China | Benxi City, Liaoning Province, China

  Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
AUS 18 42 59 72
CHI 20 42 65 70

 
31 MAY China Series | Opals 80 vs 72 China | Shenyang City, Liaoning Province, China 

  Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
AUS 27 49 66 80
CHI 15 33 55 72

 

2 JUNE China Series | Opals 68 vs 75 China | Shenyang City, Liaoning Province, China 

  Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
AUS 20 39 51 68
CHI 17 33 58 75

 

20 JUNEMitsui Fudosan Cup 2024  | Opals vs Japan | Hokkaido Sports Center, Sapporo, Japan  

  Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
AUS 19 41 64 85
JPN 22 52 69 96


 
21 JUNEMitsui Fudosan Cup 2024  | Opals vs Japan | Hokkaido Sports Center, Sapporo, Japan  

  Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
AUS 19 43 68 87
JPN 27 50 76 95



3 JULY
– Ford BALLIN’24 Melbourne  - Opals vs China | John Cain Arena, Melbourne  

  Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
AUS 23 22 26 23
CHN 18 18 13 17



5 JULY
– Ford BALLIN’24 Melbourne   
Opals vs China | John Cain Arena, Melbourne  

  Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4
AUS 25 62 22 18
CHN 15 15 15 18

 

22 JULY – Spain Invitational Tournament   
Opals vs Spain | Calle de Damaso Alonso, Segovia   
Time Zone Guide: 23 July, 2024 – 2:00am (AWST) - 3:30AM (ACST) 4:00am (AEST)  
 
23 JULY – Spain Invitational Tournament   
Opals vs Canada | Calle de Damaso Alonso, Segovia  
Time Zone Guide: 24 July, 2024 – 12:00am (AWST) - 1:30AM (ACST) 2:00am (AEST) 

29 JULY – Paris 2024 Olympics   
Opals vs Nigeria | Pierre Mauroy Stadium, Lille, France  
Time Zone Guide: 30 July 2024 - 1:00am (AWST) 2:30am (ACST) 3:00am (AEST)  
 
1 AUGUST – Paris 2024 Olympics |   
Opals vs Canada | Pierre Mauroy Stadium, Lille France  
Time Zone Guide: 2 August 2024 - 3:30am (AWST) 5:00am (ACST) 5:30am (AEST)  
 
4 AUGUST – Paris 2024 Olympics |   
Opals vs France | Pierre Mauroy Stadium, Lille France  
Time Zone Guide: 5 August 2024 - 3:00am (AWST) 4:30am (ACST) 5:00am (AEST)  
 
*Games will not be available via broadcast. 

Major Partners